Get D-U-N-S number for free and fast in India


Update: Since this post got viral and many people have actually used it, I decided to post this on my Quora blog too. So that I can increase the reach of this information. Kindly upvote and share the post on Quora too. (Link: Get D-U-N-S number free and fast in india)

I have received a lot of mails, comments and messages related to this and I am afraid I can’t answer them here, since I rarely post here or even login to this blog. So I request you to message me on Quora, if you need to ask something or just wanted to talk to me. I do not mind getting comments here, but I’ll be extremely slow in responding here. My Quora profile can be found here – Abhishek Jain

Copyright Notice:  If you’re reposting any part of this post or the complete post to any other website (or any other publishing media) apart from Quora, you’ll need a written permission from me. In most cases I’ll give the permission for free, if there’s no commercial use involved. On Quora, the content of this post is licensed under CC BY 3.0 license. You’re free to use the information to get your DUNS number though.


 

If you’ve ever applied for Apple’s developer account under your company’s name, then you’d know how painful it is to get a D-U-N-S number. And if you’r company is registered outside USA, then it gets even tougher.

When you contact Dun & Bradstreet (D&B)  to assign your organization a D-U-N-S, they actually try to sell you their plans. I tried to get DUNS for my startup in India and that’s what their Mumbai branch replied to me –

Dear Sir / Ma’am,

Greetings from Dun & Bradstreet

We have attached the Questionnaire for your perusal. The price for DUNS is Rs 15000/ + Taxes@12.36%. Total Rs 16854/-.

Kindly send the below

a) Filled signed & stamped questionnaire (all pages to be signed & stamped)
b) Certificate of incorporation / Partnership
c) Electricity / Phone Bill (latest utility bill)

Details appended below for your payment
Payment Terms: Demand Draft / RTGS / NEFT Only.

The DD should be in the favor of Dun & Bradstreet Information Services India Pvt Ltd.
Total Amount: – Rs 16854/- (15000 +1854 @12.36% taxes)

Kind Attn.:- Ms. XXX / Ms. XXX
Dun & Bradstreet Information Services India Pvt Ltd
ICC Chambers,
Saki Vihar Road,
Powai, Mumbai 400072. INDIA

Alternatively, the following are the RTGS details

Account Name: DUN & BRADSTREET INFORMATION SERVICES INDIA PVT LTD
Bank Name: xxxxxx
Bank Branch Address: FORT HOUSE, 4TH FLOOR, UNIT NO. 1,224, D.N. ROAD, FORT, MUMBAI – 400001
Beneficiary Bank A/c No: xxxxxxx
Type of Bank A/c: CURRENT A/C
NEFT IFSC Code: – xxxxx
RTGS IFSC Code: – xxxxxx

Kindly send us the snapshot of the transaction & the reference number.

The TAT for obtaining DUNS is 8-10 working days, post receipt of payment & all mandatory documents.

For Document Related queries please contact- xxxx

For Payment related queries please call- xxxxx

Do revert in case of any further clarification.

 

Serious-Lee?

 

And when I argued that the service is free and they shouldn’t take money for that, this is what I got in reply –

 

Dear Sir,

“The DUNS service in India is chargeable and the price quoted to you is the minimum cost for the same which is INR 15000 + ST. DUNS number is a location specific identifier for existence of a business in that location and is valid for the lifetime as long as the business is in existence and operational from the same location with the same trade style. The TAT for obtaining DUNS is 8-10 working days, post receipt of payment & all mandatory documents.

Having said that please note that many organizations within India and outside as well can request for a report on a registered / unregistered entity from the D&B database for any location / company globally and in absence of you keeping the same up to date, D&B shall compile information on your company from public sources on best effort basis when we receive a request and prepare a report on your company to meet the requirement of the party seeking this information. Hence it is advisable that post obtaining the DUNS number that you also keep the information up to date at least on yearly basis with us to have a better control on information being circulated from D&B office. However the prerogative of the same lies with the company.

Hope the same addresses your concerns pertaining to DUNS and registration with D&B.

Do let us know in case you need any further understanding or clarity on the same.”

 

NO!!!

However as per Apple’s instructions, the service should be free. So I searched on internet for this and found that people actually have no clue at all. If you argue a lot they reduce the price to INR 8K too. This is actually if you want to quicken the process to obtain the number. Usually it takes up to 30 days to get the number if you apply through the free route, however if you pay, they’ll do it in less than 5 days.

 

So I contacted few experts and they suggested me a hole in this system. The quickening process is actually free for Government organizations, contractors who are going to apply for USA government contracts and research institutes who will be applying for a grant from universities. So I registered as a Government contractor on their website (it’s not illegal since I intend to apply for USA Government contracts in future, probably after 30-40 years and they didn’t show me any terms and condition which mentions the wrongfulness of this way, I actually checked all the documents ).

I didn’t receive any mails from them and after two days when I tried searching for my company in their database using Apple’s developer site, they actually send me my DUNS. I used it and after voice confirmation from Apple’s executive, I was allowed to make payments.

In case you’re finding the webpage for free registration, this is the link which I’ve used –

D-U-N-S Application (Use Firefox, since Chrome is not supported)

So instead of 30 days, I got D-U-N-S in 3 days that too without paying any penny to the D&B’s infamous Mumbai branch. I hope my post will help everyone to fight back those sales guys.

Hell yeah!!

 

Stay tuned for more helpful resources.

Do visit us at Noob Games to know more about us.

Thanks for reading,

Abhi

73 thoughts on “Get D-U-N-S number for free and fast in India

  1. Hi Abhi,
    I tried your method to get a DUNS no.
    I did get a number and now am waiting for the verification process from Apple.
    Its been 2 days. How much time does it usually take?

    Like

    • Hi Rushabh,
      It took me 5 days to get the verification process complete. Apple executives will call you to verify your details, so remember the exact details you had entered while signing up.

      Like

  2. Hey, thanks a ton for the info. By the way does the apple developer fee stand at $ 99 or is it different (higher) when registering for an organization. Also to register as a government contractor, what documents are required to be provided D & B ??? Thanks once again. You hav no idea how helpful ur article was.

    Like

    • You’re welcome! It stands at $99 even for companies, unless you ask for an enterprise account which can share apps without the need for Apple store. It costs $199 for that account.

      Like

  3. Hi Abhi,

    Thanks for your awesome blog. It worked!!. I got DUNS number for my company for free. I got in 7 days which includes weekends too. So how long it will take my DUNS number to reflect in dnb.com or SAM.gov . Because I tried as soon as I received mail from dnb, I am unable to find my company name. Any idea how to proceed further for Apple developer account registration.

    Like

  4. Hey, did you get any mail from D&B stating that you’re not a US government contractor and the request has been cancelled. Or something similar.

    Like

  5. Just a curious question, after clicking ‘SUBMIT’ at the fedgov[dot]dnb[dot]com site, did you encounter a blank, white page? Was there a confirmation email sent to you that the registration was successful? I have input the necessary information needed and when I clicked SUBMIT, I encounter a blank, white page everytime. I am using Firefox, latest version, on my iMac. Thanks so much in advance for your advice.

    Like

    • I don’t remember exactly, but there was no blank page. I didn’t get any confirmation email, however when I checked Apple’s registration site after two days, it successfully returned my D-U-N-S number.

      Like

      • Hi Abhi
        Can you post the link of the apple registration site where you verified your DUNS number
        Thanks
        Tej

        Like

  6. hello
    thank you for your article,its very helpful for rising app developers bothered by all these numbers and all
    i want to ask that cant we register without being reflected as gov contractor
    what kind of organisation should i get registered(pvt Ltd or anything) before applying

    thank you in advance

    Like

  7. Hi,
    This is really a great post. I was hitting my head to get DUNS and your article saved me. Could you also let me know, if partnership firms can also get this number?
    Thanks a lot in advance.
    -/Sangamesh

    Like

  8. Hi, thank you for nice article to tackle the Mumbai based DUNS provider. We are a startup and need DUNS number for Apple developer program and I followed the website and filled my company details and clicked to get New DUNS number. What should be the “Legal Structure” (Corporation | Limited Liability Company | Partnership | Proprietorship) for us? We are a Private Limited Company. And what we should provide values for “Primary SIC code”, “Description of Operations” and “Socioeconomic Data”? Please advise.

    Like

    • For Private Limited Company, you should choose Corporation. SIC code is given by the Indian Govt. for each business category. Contact your CA to know which category do you belong or if you’re in hurry, Google the SIC code list and found your category.
      Description of Operation means what exactly does your company do. No idea about SociaoEconomic Data (Try leaving it blank).

      Like

  9. Thanks for your post, it save a lot of time for a indie developer like me. It only takes 6 days (verify call from local brand of D&B in my country included) to get the DUNS number, now I just need to wait Apple process my conversion request.

    Like

    • Hi Minal,
      You can’t register a Private Limited Company for free. It’s a chargeable process decided by Ministry of Corporate Affairs.
      You’ll need to apply for DIN (Director’s Identification) and need two Executive Directors at at least.
      Meet a good CA and ask her about this. It’ll cost you around ₹20-30k.
      Trust me hiring a CA to do it for you is the best possible way.

      Like

  10. Hi
    Thanks for the wonderful post. Got my DUNS number in 3 days flat, thanks to you.
    Don’t know if they have modified the procedure, but I received an acknowledgement after submitting my info at the DUNS website (mentioned above)

    Got a call today afternoon (3rd day after submission) from a DUNS representative in Mumbai. He just confirmed my details over the phone.

    When I checked my mail some time later, I had received a mail from them confirming my DUNS number. Did not have to go to SAMS or visit the DUNS website again.

    Again, thanks a ton! 🙂

    Regards
    Shailesh

    Like

    • You’re welcome! I think they have updated their procedures. I never received any call from D&B, but received it from Apple. Anyways good luck for your venture.

      Like

      • I have received a mail from dnb.gov with the DUNS number for my site. However, it has been over a week and still my DUNS number is not reflected. The DNB team in Indua is asking for INR 60000 to get the registration completed.
        Is there a way out?

        Like

      • I Was also told to pay 17k for my DUNS number for my LLP from Mumbai D&B office .. But I got pissed off and Sent the DUNS request again and got it after a few days for free.
        But even after getting the DUNS number, when entering in Apple site it was giving not existing. So I got really pissed and raised a mail stating my disappointment in Apple and its DUNS system which is delaying my release by more than a month. Thankfully it got raised to some head executive and he resolved the case by calling me directly from US and verifying my LLP over phone.

        But overall it is still an annoying procedure to do all this when we are not in the US.

        And thanks to your blog, I tried this and got it. My regards!

        Like

      • hello, I am trying to obtain he DUNS number, after clicking the link mentioned above a window appears where i have to mention the location. So after confirming INDIA and proceeding forward it redirects me to the search option for searching Indian companies already having the DUNS number. I am confused at this step. It would be a real help if you could explain it a bit.

        Like

  11. Hi Abhi,

    I want to try your solution but before that, I need to clear few things. I hope you can surely answer to my question.

    1. I have my company name, which isn’t registered anyways. I just have my name.
    2. So based on that, I shall able to proceed to get a DUNS number in your way?
    3. If No, please provide a reason.
    4. If Yes, would it be OK to write my company name as “Name Pvt. Ltd.” – I don’t have any partner in this. No proof of existence of company. But Yes, if they required to add companies details, I have my PAN card, an electricity bill (of my house) and almost every proof that an Indian native should have.
    5. Would it work for me?

    Please reply.

    Thanks,

    Regards
    ~ Hemang

    Like

    • The organisation has to be registered either as a LLC or a Private Limited with MCA (Ministry of Corporate Affairs) in India to get the D-U-N-S no. It’s illegal to use Pvt. Ltd. in your organisation’s name when it’s not entitled to do so. You may be heavily fined and may even receive imprisonment for fraud. I am not a lawyer, so consult one before you do anything.

      Like

  12. Hi,
    My company has a Private Limited registration and wish to get DUNS number.
    Question : Is there any legal complexities?
    qes: what all document I have to submit for the DUNS number
    jitto

    Like

    • No, this method doesn’t have any legal complexity as far as I know. If you still has some doubt, please meet a corporate lawyer. You won’t need any documents for this method.

      Like

  13. I just applied for it and got it in less than 30 mins via email !! I immediately tried on Apple site but Apple is unable to find it. I think I need to try after a few days. Will wait for a couple of days and try registering on Apple site again.

    Like

  14. Heya Abhi, we are an trading company dealing in various goods and want to register for duns. Now, on the duns website in the sample logo its something different to what I seen on internet. Can u please confirm which is an actual logo ??

    1] http://www.dnbregistered.co.in/DAndBRegistered.aspx
    2] https://www.google.co.in/search?q=duns+logo&rls=com.microsoft:en-US:IE-Address&biw=1920&bih=965&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiT9Irphf3MAhVLpo8KHTB_Dl8Q_AUIBigB -(1st image here)

    Also, is there lets say any harm in just displaying the logo like that in my website without getting registered ? (You may link me up to any legal thing which u might think I should read)

    Thx 🙂

    Like

    • I don’t think there would be any issue in displaying the logo, if you are actually registered. Consult their website for any copyright related material. I suppose the correct logo is the first image in the second link.

      Like

  15. We are a private limited company trying to create a product catalogue application. We have tried to apply your method to generate the D-U-N-S number but have not gotten any response. They sent us an email saying they could not find sufficient documentation regarding our company. We have left an email and a voice message but have not received any feedback. Our APP is ready to launch and is just stuck on this. What should we do ?

    Like

    • Well the documentation has to be perfect, so that they don’t have any reason to reject you. I don’t know what you can do, probably have a new organisation or just pay them what they are asking for or complain to Apple.
      It just depends upon how desperate you are to launch your app.

      Like

  16. Hey, I am trying to obtain the DUNS number, after clicking the link mentioned above, a window appears where i have to mention the location. So after confirming INDIA and proceeding forward, it redirects me to the search option for searching Indian companies already having the DUNS number. I am confused at this step. It would be a real help if you could explain it a bit.
    I am using firefox latest verson

    Like

  17. I want apple enterprise account so i can distribute my apps to my office guys only. But they do not give this service to developer account only to enterprise account. now when i register for enterprise account it does now allow proprietor account. Can someone help how can I do this?

    Like

  18. Hello Abhi,
    First I will have to apply for the DUNS number then I will have to create the Apple Account. Is this the right process?
    Or I will have to created the DUNS number through the Apple Account?

    Like

    • You should create your Apple id first. Then start the purchasing process. It’ll ask for a duns no. At that time you can start using this method. Only after confirmation, you’ll be asked to pay the fees for developer account.

      Like

Leave a comment